Posted in Reviews

THE BETROTHED by Kiera Cass

4/5 Stars

Over the years, I have been a pretty big fan of The Selection series (It’s kind of my guilty pleasure series… it’s just so entertaining to reread). The Betrothed is definitely in the same vein as Cass’ first series as a relatively feel-good fantasy romance. In fact, at times it felt like the same world to me (although this one is much more high fantasy than dystopian futuristic). While I enjoy that Cass’ writing style is distinct and recognizable, I wish this book held its own a bit more. I will try to refrain from comparing the two series too much, but I felt it just had to be said since I think a large part of my enjoyment of this book stemmed from the sentimental factor that it brought me back those warm and fuzzy and jaw-dropping feelings!

I quite enjoyed the first half of the book, but then the ending felt rushed with so many plot twists thrown in there. I was a bit surprised to learn that there will be a sequel due to this hasty ending (it felt more like trying to wrap it up quickly for a standalone); I wish that the fall-out of the climax was more fleshed out rather than thrown in there for shock value. I’m sure it was a necessary plot point for the future progression of the story, but I found it rather jarring and didn’t quite find my footing again by the time the novel finished.

While I have many critiques, I am giving it such a high rating because of how darn enjoyable and entertaining it was to read! Please give this one a chance. I know I’ll be reading the sequel and maybe I’ll even reevaluate my feelings about the plot’s pacing once I see where it’s going!

Comparable titles:
Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
Torn by Rowenna Miller
The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton

Leave a comment